Saturday, 15 June 2013

Petit Trianon: Salon of Empress Eugénie

Once again the tapestry has been reconstructed to the state it would have been in when Marie Antoinette occupied the mansion. It was Empress Eugénie who decided that the room should pay tribute to Marie Antoinette herself - consequently the room has been named after the Empress. The Empress had furniture and other objects from Marie Antoinette's time (even some of the decapitated Queen's personal belongings) brought back to the Petit Trianon in 1867 as a part of the World Fair. In total Empress Eugénie managed to gather 144 objects with a reference to the last Queen of the l'ancien régieme.

One of the objects referring to Marie Antoinette
A bust of the Empress herself

No comments:

Post a Comment